Sensitive Skin 5

$3.95 Buy the PDF

Sensitive Skin features art, writing and music, without rules or boundaries, by both famous and emerging artists, writers, and musicians from around the globe.

Sensitive Skin #5 cover Samoa

Sensitive Skin 5, published Spring 2011, includes:

An excerpt from Jonathan Shaw’s novel Narcissa.

An excerpt from a novel-in-progress by Melissa Febos, author of Whipsmart: A Memoir.

Plus more fiction from Norman Douglas, Jen Adams and D.Scott Miller, with poetry from Steve Dalachinsky, Wanda Phipps and Lyn Lifshin.

A portfolio of paintings by Samoa Moriki (who did the most excellent cover portrait of our President), the lead guitarist for punk rock legends The Voluptuous Horror of Karen Black.

Music by contemporary classical composer Dan Becker.

Music from ’90s downtown art noise combo Timber, featuring Rick Brown (Run On), Mark Howell (Fred Frith, John Zorn) and Jenny Wade (Rude Buddha, Swans, Vodka).

A video by Swedish art student Jóhanna Ellen

With additional illustrations, paintings and photographs by Jóhanna Ellen, David West, Holly Van Voast, Ted Barron, Shalom Neuman, Sebastian Mlynarski, Charlie Homo and Hal Hirshorn.

58 Pages, full color, 8.5″ x 11″, PDF format.

Sensitive Skin began as a print venture from New York’s Lower East Side in the 1990s, and published such literary luminaries as Richard Hell, Steve Cannon, Jack Micheline, Penny Arcade, John Farris, Eileen Myles, Lynne Tillman, Patrick McGrath, Bob Holman, Maggie Estep, Emily XYZ, Herbert Huncke and Joel Rose, with art by Andres Serrano, Ari Marcopolis, Andrew Castrucci and James Romberger, to name but a few….

Sensitive Skin was reborn in the summer of 2010, and has since presented original work by such esteemed writers, artists and musicians as Samuel R. Delaney, John Lurie, Gary Indiana, Sharon Mesmer, Charles Gatewood, Gretchen Faust, Alex Katz, Peter Blauner, Hal Sirowitz, Arthur Nersesian, Maggie Estep, Fred Frith, Evelyn Bencicova, Thurston Moore, Iggy Pop, Winston Smith, Sue Rynski, Steve Dalachinsky, Marty Thau, Justine Frischmann, Craig Clevenger, Darius James, Stewart Home, Michael A. Gonzales, Drew Hubner, Jonathan Shaw, Melissa Febos, Stephen Lack, Max Blagg, Patricia Eakins, Díre McCain, Rob Roberge, Kurt Wolf, Erika Schickel, John S. Hall, Kevin Rafferty, Elliott Sharp, Mike Hudson, James Greer, Ruby Ray, William S. Burroughs and Allen Ginsberg.